Follow-up to the preceding post: This is the current version of the front cover for my book on Professor Hoffmann’s short fiction

Below is a front-cover design for my forthcoming book on Professor Hoffmann’s short fiction. I put this together back in June, and at that time I believe my intention was that it would basically be a placeholder. But it turns out that I like it quite a bit, and also I am reluctant to impose on my daughter for a cover for a book that will likely sell very few copies.

best AJL cover Screen Shot 2023-06-29 at 2.42.33 AM for blog resave

If you are puzzled by the title In the Yule-Log Glow, I’m not surprised. Hoffmann’s story “Christmas With the Baron” was first published in London Society in 1863. It has appeared in a number of anthologies, including the four-volume In the Yule-Log Glow, first published in 1891.

There were also at least two one-volume printings of In the Yule-Log Glow.

My cover above portrays Book II from five different sets dated 1892. (That is the earliest-known title-page date for that title.)

But you say that six covers, not five, are shown? Yes, in one case I also showed Book III, as well as Book II from the same set.

—Tom Sawyer

August 11, 2023

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.